Floppydisk issue


Joined
Mar 24, 2022
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Hi there,

Being very pleased owning multiple technics keyboards, I encountered a problem.
Can I use the floppies that go into the keyboard on a windows or iMac computer?

I just bought a usb floppydrive, but the computeres do not seem to be able to read the data from the keyboard.

My primairy goal is to back-up the data.
I also would like to be able to write midi files either one of the computers and then save it on disk and use it on the keyboards,
being kn1800, kn2000, kn3000, kn5000. My kn1000 does not have a drive.

thank you
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 24, 2022
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Vintage hardware comes with vintage technology.

6 of my hardware toys have a 3.5" floppy drive.
I woud like to find a way to get these, at the time, highly advanced technology , work in a more up - to -date setup.

See image
WhatsApp Image 2022-03-24 at 4.18.19 PM.jpeg
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2022
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
@delaware
Just be sure that the disk still contains useable data, and that she does not get interested in usb-sticks and such :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 24, 2022
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
fair enough.

greatings artists, wizards and discordians alike,

while sysx is well integrated in the iconnectivity m10 based structure, the capacity to transport magnatized binary codes via an external capacitor such as the semi static capsule used in a, in this case, usb powered, floppy drive, should bring the user of that structure the ability to exchange mathematical theories and experiments in a way that the entropy of the zone could be experienced a more lay-back vibe manner.

if anyone here would like to share some ideas or research on how to use old floppies, and therefor code, in a windows and/or iMac setup, please , feel free and honored to speak now
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 14, 2021
Messages
81
Reaction score
18
Location
Zolder.B
Hi there,

Being very pleased owning multiple technics keyboards, I encountered a problem.
Can I use the floppies that go into the keyboard on a windows or iMac computer?

I just bought a usb floppydrive, but the computeres do not seem to be able to read the data from the keyboard.

My primairy goal is to back-up the data.
I also would like to be able to write midi files either one of the computers and then save it on disk and use it on the keyboards,
being kn1800, kn2000, kn3000, kn5000. My kn1000 does not have a drive.
hoi
floppy disk : 5,25 inch (back in time name used by commodore pcs
floppy disk : 3.5inch also known as " diskette" name used by Technics in there manuals.
Configure your pc for playback midi files in audio.
So if you want to back up the data you have to:
1)copy the disk in your kb that can play the content.
2)play back the file in your kb and record it in a DAW.
note: you can use 3,5 inch 2DD(720kb) or 2HD(1,44 Mb)
but 2HD disks formatted as 2DD cannot be used.
mris

thank you
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 4, 2012
Messages
1,356
Reaction score
649
floppy disk : 5,25 inch (back in time name used by commodore pcs
floppy disk : 3.5inch also known as " diskette" name used by Technics in there manuals.
Configure your pc for playback midi files in audio.
So if you want to back up the data you have to:
1)copy the disk in your kb that can play the content.
2)play back the file in your kb and record it in a DAW.
note: you can use 3,5 inch 2DD(720kb) or 2HD(1,44 Mb)
but 2HD disks formatted as 2DD cannot be used.
mris
show off...
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
74
Reaction score
15
Location
England
I regularly use floppy disks to transfer rhythms and midis from my computer to my KN7000.
Sounds like you first need to check whether your computer can see your USB floppy drive at all...
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 18, 2021
Messages
80
Reaction score
27
Location
Michigan, US
In response to the original question, even if the computer could read the data how would you get the data back to the keyboard if the floppy goes bad? I assume that's why you want to back it up, right? Another assumption is that the computer can't read the data because you don't have a program that can read the file type?
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top