G'day All

Reaction score
G'day All,

Just joined this forum a week ago after watching it for a while. Really have enjoyed the friendly and helpful attitude of all the regular posters, and decided that this was the forum for me!

A quick bio - I've been playing keys for 20+ years in bands since my late teens after starting out as a very small lad learning classical piano. There's nothing better than chatting to other musos about how they do what they do, and one of my great joys is bailing up other keyboard players when we play gigs with other bands and discussing our mutual passion! I reckon we're the misunderstood workhorses of the music community :)

Hoping I can learn plenty from you all plus hopefully add a bit of value by sharing some of the small bits of knowledge I've picked up along the journey too.

Cheers,

Paul

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
We seem to have met already as ships which pass in the night, but welcome aboard Paul.

I have enormous respect for professional gigging musicians and am myself but a humble amateur, self taught in my twilight years after spending a few decades in the computer and electronics industry.

I've always been an enormous fan of synthesizers and keyboards though, ever since I first heard Dick Hyman play The Minotaur on the very first Moog recording.

http://grooveshark.com/#/search/songs/?query=dick+hyman+the+minotaur

I didn't have a lot of spare cash to indulge my passion as a kid though so nowadays I tend to overcompensate by collecting gear like a junkyard dog collects fleas. :)

Mostly I compose original tunes which, while not everyone's cup of tea make ME happy and to me that's what music is all about, bringing happiness to your inner child.

Looking forward to some interesting posts from your perspective and hearing the tales of the best and worst gigs you've ever played.

Talk to ya soon ;)

Gary

Last edited:
Reaction score
Thanks for your warm welcome Gary,