Good Practice Routines

Reaction score
Hi everyone, it seems like theres a lot of keyboard beginners on these forums like myself and i thought that we could all benefit from sharing thoughts on how to practice properly. Things like good and bad habits, excercises others may not know about, good songs to learn etc. When I practice i usually do a lot of scales and arpeggios to a metronome. I've also been doing the first 3 hanon excercises which seem pretty useful in building evenness in my fingers. I'd love to hear some thoughts on how others practice cuz im pretty new to this and i want to do it right.

Reaction score
Definitely scales and arpeggios are rad.
I also play bach inventions a lot because they use both hands and work all your fingers. They are seriously one of the best things to use to warm up.
A also kind of just start playing and improvising. If you are good enough, it is a good way to get into it really fast. After my improvisation doesn't sound all crappy and choppy, I know i'm warmed up. Thats just me though. I dont know how other people do stuff.

Reaction score
Definitely scales and arpeggios are rad.
I also play bach inventions a lot because they use both hands and work all your fingers. They are seriously one of the best things to use to warm up.
A also kind of just start playing and improvising. If you are good enough, it is a good way to get into it really fast. After my improvisation doesn't sound all crappy and choppy, I know i'm warmed up. Thats just me though. I dont know how other people do stuff.

When you say Bach inventions, are they from Bach the famous composer? Or are they some kind of warm up routine i havent heard of? Can you please fill me in?

Reaction score
Yea, Bach as in the composer. His inventios are difficult to play for how simple they are. Which is why they are awesome for warming up/practicing.

Anyone else have anything to share about how they practice? I want some new stuff to play.

Reaction score