Good software for using MIDI keys live?

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have a Line 6 KB37, which is a recording interface and midi keyboard. I want to start using it to play live synth/keyboard parts, along with my laptop. I am completely new to this, so answers to the following would be gratefully appreciated!

1. Currently, I'm using Cubase to jam with my friends. Like, opening up cubase, setting up a MIDI track, hooking the whole thing up to some speakers and playing like that. But it occurs to me that Cubase is probably a massive resource hog considering I'm not looking to record or mix anything - I just need the functionality of playing the keyboard sounds. Is there other software that will basically let me plug my MIDI keyboard in, open up the program, choose a sound and just play? I'm assuming this is a REALLY stupid question, but on this topic unfortunately I am REALLY stupid, so... :p I don't mind paying up for good software, but it seems like the MIDI part of cubase is exactly what I need - hundreds of sounds all ready to go.

2. Sometimes, when using certain presets, there's a crackling sound when I play. The laptop I'm using is good enough spec (200+gb free HDD space, 3GB ram, vista) so I'm thinking maybe I need to play around with some settings to fix this, am I right?

...That's about it. Any other general wisdom that you have that might help me play my KB37 live would be veeeeery much appreciated. I'm usually quite good with music (I do have a degree!) but this whole area is just stumping me. Sorry if I made anyone facepalm!

~~

Reaction score
Software recommendations for you are hard without knowing what sounds you want to access and the quality of them etc. but unless you are unhappy with Cubase I don't see why you would want to change. It might use a lot of resource but it's not like you'll be running multiple applications, streaming video and stuff whilst playing live.