Good Yamaha or Casio keyboards under $200 for an absolute beginner

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to keyboards/piano's and i need some help. I would like to learn playing keyboard, so i need to buy one. I want a 61 key keyboard. I want to play short classical pieces or popular music for friends and family. I'm not planning to play in a band. I don't want to spend more than $200 on a keyboard at this point. I want a Yamaha or a Casio keyboard. Which Casio or Yamaha keyboard do you recommend?. If someone has a budget Casio or Yamaha, please share you're experience. Many thanks in advance

Last edited:
Reaction score
Welcome.

First question

Do you really want to play piano or a keyboard?

A piano will have 88 keys and a heavier action to the keys and piano playing will develop along playing Bass lines with your left and the treble or melody lines with the right.

To play true classical then it is piano but to play a classical piece when you have learned to play a keyboard is more akin to playing it in the style of.

A beginners keyboard is probably an arranger type intended to have chords played left handed and the melody line with the right hand all whilst auto accompaniment is taking place where the accompaniment is triggered by the Style chosen and the actual chords played. Do note that a pro musician in a band will not play their keyboard like this, more likely chord variations in right with chord bass not and harmonic with the left.

Onto keyboard within and above budget.

Yamaha PSR E 363 is $199 but in all honesty it is not very good, the sound is only so so, the build quality is not the best. I have played one as recently as 6 weeks ago and wish I had not.

Casio CTX 700 at $175 is a much superior keyboard to the Yamaha but at this price point it will have limitations.

A bit more in cost but much superior is the Casio CTX3000 which is $300