Hello Friends

Reaction score
Just joined the forum and want to say hello. My name is Mark Wybierala and I've been a professional luthier for nearly twenty years. I get keyboards in for repairs a few times a year and generally have been lucky with being able to repair the usual dead key/touch sensitivity problems along with replacing broken hardware. But I sometimes could use some help. I have a background in electronics in the military so I know a little -- enough to get myself in trouble. I'm looking for recommendations for a tutorial on understanding how the switching matrix of the keyboard functions. On occasion, I come across multiple dead keys and being able to understand the commonality of the keys would save me a lot of time. Right now I have a Kurtzweil that has an intermittent problem of multiple dead keys that is intermittent and there is no evidence of any problem on the key contact circuit board.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
It's often possible and very useful to find a service manual online for either the board you are working on or an earlier, discontinued model with similar specs.

As for the keyboard matrix, you should be able to find youtube and google tutorials on basic multiplexing designs that might help you out.

Which model Kurzweil are we talking about here?

Gary ;)

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Reaction score