Hello From Jack

Reaction score
Hello everybody I stumbled across this forum by chance, and as I'm a keyboardist, I thought I'd join.

So, a bit about me then: my name is Jack, I'm 18 years old and a progressing self-taught musician from the UK. I am blind and so can not read music (and Braille music feels like gibberish to me also), but I learn and play by listening and repeating, which you could argue works just as well.

Although drums has been my main instrument for several years, I practise fairly evenly now on both the drums and the keyboard. Though I always enjoyed just messing about on the keys as a boy, I became serious about playing the keyboard about 2 and a half years ago, at a time when I was listening to a lot of 80s synthy rock music (Van Halen, David Lee Roth, Rush, Magnum, Journey, etc). Around that time I picked up a Yamaha PSR E403 keyboard/synthesiser, and off I went.

Over the past few months particularly I have become quite well established as a keyboardist due to a number of public solo performances, mainly playing a series of classic hits I have learned to play over time.

For a couple of years now I have been the drummer for a heavy metal band I formed with school friends, a position which I continue to occupy, although as yet I'm just a soloist on the keys with a couple of projects on the go.

My keyboard equipment is as follows:

Nord C1 Organ: A very realistic imitator of the classic Hammond, Farfisa and Vox organs. I love this piece of kit so much!

Yamaha PSR E403: I use this for many of the instrument samples/emulations I need - piano, brass, strings, etc - it's a very good value keyboard with many, many great sounds and is surprising for the price.

Korg MicroKorg: A virtual analogue synthesizer, plenty of retro fun with some particularly nice bassy sounds and some gorgeous squealing synth leads. Although admittedly this synth is a nightmare to program and edit to a blind player ... but that's by the by as they say.