Hello - new here!

Reaction score
Hey folks.

Just registered. I'm a guitarist of over 30 years. Have always dabbled in keys and piano, but lately I've been getting into synth playing and learning songs.
Looking to learn as much as I can!

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Welcome aboard future propellorhead, synth-afficianado in training.

Here at the altar of the Church of the Blessed Synthesizer (and car wash) we live, breathe and eat technical manuals for breakfast.

We offer wit, wisdom, and unvarnished truth when required.

If you're looking to cover every synth tune in the past 30 years, I Highly recommend the Prophet Rev 2.

I got one yesterday and I gotta say, there's something about American made synths that Behringer just hasn't figured out how to duplicate yet.

As someone who has owned many Behringers, I can honestly say the Rev2 is the most playable instrument I've encountered in the past 25 years.

But fun is fun,

Back to smoking reefer in Soviet Canuckistan :D :D :D

Gary ;)

Reaction score
Thanks, I appreciate the reply and the suggestion.

I'm nowhere near settled on the Behringer DeepMind, and I'm happy you pointed me toward the Prophet Rev2. Not TOO expensive either, all things considered. I'm kind of in love with Juno tones right now for better or worse, but the more I'm learning about synths, I can see how much they have in common, and you can arrive at similar places with all of them it seems. For now, I'm sort of gathering soft synths so I can get a feel for different ones. Junos like I said kind of hit my ears in a special kind of way, but the OB-Xa and MiniMoog are also to my liking. Luckily lots of good softsynths out there between Arturia, Softube, and others. Also picked up IK Syntronik 2 in their recent Group Buy for $35. Samples instead of modeling, but it's been a fantastic way to get a taste for nearly every popular synth that's existed!

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score