Help! How do I get my Studiologic Keyboard to play?

Reaction score
I know it sounds weird but I am a beginning piano player and bought a Studiologic 880 keyboard second hand because I got a great deal in order to learn to play. A piano was too big for my apartment:) So, I buy it off this kid and he says all I need is the chord in the back and I'm good to go. Well, I have now purchased, speakers and an amp and plugged it in and I can't hear anything. I know it is connected right so here is my question and sorry if it is elementary but I'm a beginner. It does not have a Midi cable connected in the back and I have one coming in the mail. Does it have to be hooked up to the computer to hear the keyboard? I thought I would be able to at least hear the keyboard without being hooked up to my computer all the time. if anyone knows what the deal is, I would sure appreciate your expertise. I hope the kid didn't rip me off. Thanks!

Reaction score
What did you plug your amp into? The jack labeled 'Volume'?

I'm pretty sure that what you bought is a MIDI Controller, not a 'keyboard' (there's not a really good term for a keyboard that also produces sound). What that means is that your SL 880 doesn't produce any sound on its own. You can either use MIDI to connect it to another keyboard that does produce sound and have audio output or you connect it to your computer and have other computer software produce the sound.

Reaction score
thanks! yes, I did put the amp plug into "volume" and it didn't work. So could I use something like garage band or would I need to purchase other software?

Reaction score
Garage band would work. I think the SL 880 has USB output though? If so, your Mac should hopefully just detect it. You tell Garage Band to use it as a MIDI device, and you're good to go.

For your reference, the volume slot is for another pedal, one that looks like this and is used for adjusting the volume of your keyboard via MIDI.

Reaction score