Help needed

Reaction score
Good night, The keyboard Yamaha E453 help me to find the key of the singer's voice. If yes demonstrate please. Much help is needed due to the fact that i'm a beginner and i'm learning new things on my keyboard. thank you so much for your time. I would like to hear from you soon. Have a blessed night.

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
Welcome to the forums, Robert!

Whew, you sure picked a doozy of a question for your first post! :)

I'm not sure what to tell you, other than to practice listening to the pitches of the singer's voice and then trying to pick out the notes on your keyboard.

That doesn't necessarily give you the "key," such as B minor, or E flat major, or something like that, but identifying the individual notes of the melody is the first step.

If you're trying to work out a piece by ear without having the sheet music, it's a good idea to have plenty of blank music staff paper to scribble on. It's actually pretty simple to make your own using a graphics program-- or for that matter, using a text editor (hint: use the underline character to make the lines with)-- and then print out as many sheets as you need. You should also be able to find some blank pages of sheet music online to print. Of course, there are music notation programs you can use, but it's usually quicker to draw the notes on paper by hand than to do it in a program-- although the program can be a way to make a nice-looking copy once you've worked it all out by hand.

I wouldn't worry about the durations of the notes at first; just focus on identifying which notes are being sung and put a dot on the appropriate line or space to indicate each note. Also, don't worry about identifying the octave at first, since it's more important to get the note.