Help! Using Midi to send patch changes to multiple keyboards for live performance

Reaction score
Hey everyone -

I'm somewhat new to incorporating midi functions into my keyboard setup, and I have a problem that I'm hoping some of you can help me with:

I am getting ready for live performances with my band, and I have three keyboards that I play live (a Korg Triton Extreme, a Triton Pro, and a Yamaha MO 6). Changing sounds on all three of my keyboards in between songs is time consuming. So I am looking for a more efficient way to incorporate midi into sending control changes to my keyboards, so that I basically can just hit a button or select a song name somewhere and all of my keyboards change simultaneously to the patches I need for that song on each keyboard.

I know this can be done, and obviously the pros do it. But I have no idea where to even start with his or how to set that sort of thing up. So my questions are as follows:

1. Is there a device I can purchase that can be used as a controller to send those control changes to each keyboard? If so, can you give me any recommendations?

2. Do I even need such a device, or can this all be done with on of my existing keyboards?

3. How do I go about doing this in a way that keeps my transition time between songs live down to a minimum? Is there a relatively easy way to have control changes sent from one unit to the next, and if so, how?

4. How do all of you keyboardists out there address this problem of having to change sounds on multiple keyboards between songs when you are playing live? There has got to be an easier, more efficient way to do this, right?