Help with Live Keyboard Rig Setup

Reaction score
Hi to all,

Just need some assistance regarding setting up a live keyboard rig as I am a complete rookie in this field. Essentially, I am trying to turn my stage keyboard into a MIDI controller. I can get the sound coming out of my macbook when i hit the notes, however i'm not able to get the sound coming out of the actual speakers (that are connected to a soundboard). Here is a list of the equipment i have

- Macbook Air
- Mainstage3

- Roland RD-700GX Keyboard
- PreSonus AudioBox USB 2x2 USB Recording System
- Hosa CSS-203 Dual 1/4" TRS to same (3M) Balanced
- Allen & Heath ZED420 (soundboard)
- Eon Speakers (Not sure which model, but high quality)

So essentially what i do is, I have my RD-700GX Keyboard connected to the soundboard through an instrument lead (in the L/Mono channel output, which goes into the 'line-in' input/output on the soundboard), then i connect the keyboard to the macbook (through the USB-MIDI input to USB port on macbook with a printer cable). Then i have the PreSonus AudioBox connected to the macbook through USB cable, and then I use the Hosa CSS-203 Dual 1/4" TRS to same (3M) Balanced Cables to connect the AudioBox into the soundboard (By placing the cables into the Main Out (L) and (R) outputs on the AudioBox and the other end into the LINE IN and DIR OUT slots on the soundboard).

These are the exact steps i take, however I'm not 100% confident that I'm doing everything correctly. If you guys could please advise me on what to do, to get my sounds from my Mainstage3, to come out of the speakers and not just from the Macbook. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• IMG_6450.JPG
    IMG_6450.JPG
    114.6 KB · Views: 956
  • IMG_6452.JPG
    IMG_6452.JPG
    94.3 KB · Views: 641
  • IMG_6724.JPG
    IMG_6724.JPG
    192.7 KB · Views: 640

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
I'm not a mac guy or a stage performer, but it looks to me that your hookup is OK.