Hey youse guys...Help me get the right controller / keyboard!

Reaction score
Hi all...

I am a veteran bassist looking to do some home digital recording and am in desperate need of guidance on selecting a controller/keyboard. I have a 2gb Macbook pro and will probably start out just using garage band (yeah, I know it's not the best) and 99% of the time I am going to be using Scarbee/Kontakt's rhodes/ep emulator so the keyboard doesn't need to have great sounds. I need to get a controller that meets the following needs:

1) Preferably 88 keys (76 ok). Weighted keys are nice, but not a dealbreaker.
2) I play a lot of keys/piano so I want something that "feels" good. Not necessarily weighted, but not that cheap, plasticy-feeling stuff.
3) Money is not an issue.
4) I like to program my own drum beats.

I would go ahead and buy a real keyboard, like a Nord, just because it feels so good...but I hear they don't make a good controller, though I wouldn't know why. True?
What else do ya need to know? Thanks for your help...
-Greg

Reaction score
Hey Oh Henry!

ok well first off if money is not an issue at all go with a motif it will suit everything you want and more. and its great for making beats. and the new xf is coming out soon which will be the best of the best.

however if that is a bit pricy then maybe look at an CME VX80 its got the audio in audio interface.

to be honest it sounds like all you want is 88 keys and a decent feel? if your using garage band then as far as making beats goes it doesn't matter what keyboard you have.

also nords arnt generally hte best midi controller cause they dont always match up easily to a DAW however i know people that use them and they work fine just need to take time to set it all up right.

Reaction score
1) Preferably 88 keys (76 ok). Weighted keys are nice, but not a dealbreaker.
2) I play a lot of keys/piano so I want something that "feels" good. Not necessarily weighted, but not that cheap, plasticy-feeling stuff.