Hi Everyone. I'm new to keys and the forum...

Reaction score
But I'm not new to music. I've been playing guitar for many years and I think I've forgotten more about music than I have retained. That said, since covid started I've had a lot more time on my hands working from home so I've been playing guitar more and I've decided to take up playing keyboard. It's something that I've had in the back of my mind for a long time but never had the time to seriously dedicate to more than one instrument. I'm officially four days in so I thought I'd look into what resources are available and came across this forum. I'm starting from ground zero doing hand coordination exercises on the keys as well as posture and proper hand position. I have a lot to learn and I'm looking forward to chatting with you about all this stuff.

Reaction score
Welcome

Do take a look at Gary’s sticky threads in the Technique & Posture section.

You may also like to amend your Profile to include the Country you are in and to add a Signature listing your preferred name and the keyboard you are using.

Reaction score
Thanks for the tips. I will definitely check out the stickies. I updated my profile but I won't list my keyboard since what I'm using to start out with is a bit embarrassing... an ancient Yamaha PSR and a midi keyboard controller hooked to my laptop. I'm not going to rush out and buy anything nice until I have some idea of what I need.

Rayblewit

Love Music / Love Life
Reaction score
Hi Mark,
Welcome to the forums.
Many new people lately have introduced themselves and then just disappeared. I have a feeling about you that you will stick around.
I also play PSR type keyboard with ACMP.
Is that your intention too?
You mentioned learning hand coordination.
Playing left hand chords or bass or both? Playing right hand melody would be a lot different than stumming too. I am not a guitar player, but I know a few people who are, and manage the change . . hand coordination okay.