Hi from Houston, TX

Reaction score
Hi, everybody!

I have enjoyed reading here! I have just started playing synth in my coverband, so i am a total newbie on keys. I sing, play acoustic and electric guitar, harmonica, and some mandolin in my band as well. I've played guitar, bass, and harmonica for almost 30 years.

We play about 6 or 8 songs that need synth stuff, so I bought a Microkorg on Craigslist and just dove in. A few Floyd tunes, some 80's stuff. As you can see from my avatar, I have been cheating by writing the notes on the keys and have no idea what I am doing - but I've been pulling it off live.

Anyway, I am really enjoying playing synth and I am thinking of looking for something with full size keys and better organ sounds, strings, etc.

Thanks for all the good reading!

big jilm

Reaction score
Welcome on board. Have you considered taking lessons?
Hi there! No, I really don't have the time. I'll just peck away at it. I am just padding, anyway - chords are coming along. If I really want to get decent, I will need to, though!

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Greetings!!

We're a fun and friendly bunch.

With your history with other instruments you shouldn't have too much trouble making the adjustment to keys.

An octave is still an octave and if you have trouble memorizing which key is which just learn where to find A, C and F to begin with. The other notes will fill in with practice.

Gary ;)

Oriane Lima

Hold on
Reaction score
Hello big Jill, welcome. This is a fair place. There are no idiosyncrasies around here. Everyone is friendly and ready to criticize, to help each other, I, for example, have grown a lot since I started attending this site. Besides the music itself, the guys here are very knowledgeable in technical aspects, related to digital keyboards and their overall function.

Reaction score