Hi I'm new with a new Ax Edge and having a few sound issues.

Reaction score
I"m running into a lot of issues trying to get the sounds I need from this keytar. How do you import new sounds into the editor? Am I limited to what Roland offers? I cannot for the life of me figure this out. There are so few ax edge resources. I do not wish to have my keytar hooked up to my module while I'm performing because that defeats the purpose of having one. It also peeves me that you have to use a program slot to save your sound creations and keyboard splits.

For such an expensive instrument and so many promises, there should be a user bank and places to store custom sounds. They need to make this easier to program.

How do I get my own sounds on this keytar?

Reaction score
I"m running into a lot of issues trying to get the sounds I need from this keytar. How do you import new sounds into the editor? Am I limited to what Roland offers? I cannot for the life of me figure this out.
Like the majority of keyboards, especially at under $1k, you cannot import totally new playable instrument sounds (samples) of your own. But you can save your own variations of the sounds that are already in it. Roland also offers a bank of additional sounds at http://axial.roland.com/articles/ax-edge_sound_collection_from_ax-synth/which are approximate recreations of some of the patches from their previous keytar, the AX-Synth. At this point, I believe those are the only "new" sounds you can import into the editor. Other than that, Roland has announced that the AX-Edge will be updated to support program compatibility with their various Zencore based keyboards, though we don't yet know exactly what that will and won't let us do.

I do not wish to have my keytar hooked up to my module while I'm performing because that defeats the purpose of having one.
It doesn't necessarily defeat the purpose of a keytar, because there are ways to connect to a module (or an iPad, etc.) wirelessly.