High octave?

Reaction score
Hi all I'm a newbie so please excuse me if this is normal.

I purchased a Yamaha YDP 163, a month ago, and I'm really getting to grips with a few tunes. Ok they're pretty easy but to a beginner the basics sometimes take a while to sink in. What I have noticed, although I haven't had the need to play them yet, is the high octave beyond the B key don't make a sound they just thud. Is this normal on an 88 key digital piano, as there may well just say 82 if they don't make a sound?

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Find a real acoustic piano in a music shop somewhere and try the same keys.

The top octave of a standard piano consists of basically percussive sounds with a bit of a "clink"

Also have your hearing checked by a professional audiologist.

Your hearing range may be lacking. Actually it's quite common that most people's hearing range drops off dramatically above 16 KHz.

As for why bother putting 88 keys on an electronic keyboard? When other voices are played on an 88 MIDI controller there are a whole range of instruments that sound quite differently in the uppermost octaves.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
I know the sound isn't going to be as loud as the bass notes as the strings on an acoustic piano are only very short, but I would have expected a little more than a thud. Thanks for your reply by the way happy, I did try the different voices but they were the same. I'll do as you suggest, and if it is normal it won't really matter, as I don't think I'll be hitting those notes very often, if at all. My concern is, if it is a fault it's if I decide to sell it.

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score