How do I use the foot pedal as a sustain on a Yamaha DJX

Discussion in 'General Keyboard Discussion' started by Arro, Oct 18, 2018.

  1. Arro

    Arro

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've read the manual until I'm blue in the face and still can't work it out.
    I need to know how to use the foot pedal as a sustain on a Yamaha DJX

    Can anyone help
     
    Arro, Oct 18, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Arro

    Biggles

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    805
    Location:
    Lancashire, UK.
    Welcome.

    The manual does not show a socket on the DJX for connecting a pedal.

    There is also no mention of damper or sustain in the index.

    So alas you seem to be unlucky.
     
    Biggles, Oct 18, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Arro

    delaware dave

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    105
    there is a midi in jack on the keyboard so you could purchase a midi solutions foot controller device:

    http://midisolutions.com/proddfs.htm

    and connect a sustain pedal to it. Here is a used one in excellent condition for $99:

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/MIDI-Solutions-Footswitch-Controller-Works-perfectly/323502352810?
    hash=item4b523e29aa:g:idgAAOSwlY5bxeXo:rk:1:pf:0

    then connect the midi solutions box to the midi in of the yamaha.

    The question is as to whether or not the yamaha will respond to sustain via MIDI (it should). A quick way to validate this is to temporarily use another keyboard that has a sustain pedal input, connect a sustain pedal to that keyboard, then connect the midi out of that keyboard to the midi in of the yamaha. Have the other keyboard send sustain via CC#64. Then play the Yamaha and use the sustain attached to the other keyboard, it should send a sustain message through midi to the yamaha. if the yamaha responds to the sustain message and sustains then you can go the above route, otherwise you are stuck.

    Page 112 of the owners manual indicates that the DJX responds to CC64 so the above solution of purchasing the midisolutions box will work.

    https://usa.yamaha.com/files/download/other_assets/3/317533/DJX_E.PDF
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2018
    delaware dave, Oct 19, 2018
    #3
  4. Arro

    Arro

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for all your replies.
    I'll take a look at page 112 of the manual.
     
    Arro, Oct 22, 2018
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.