How High the Moon (in G?)

Reaction score
Just been playing the above from the Jazz Fake Book. The key signature has one sharp so I assume it's in G; indeed it starts with a Gmaj7 and end with a G. However, the version in the book shows five F notes but each one is a natural. Perhaps there are plenty of songs where this kind of thing happens but I can't recall seeing any. Does a clue lie in the fact that the bars where the F naturals occur show C7, FM7 and Bb7 above the stave?
Apologies for this basic question but I'm a self-taught pianist with very limited knowledge of musical theory.
M

Rayblewit

Love Music / Love Life
Reaction score
Good question. I am also self taught and I have seen this too.

Why is this song in the key of G but not one F note is played as a sharp?

Perhaps there are plenty of songs where this kind of thing happens but I can't recall seeing any.

I have seen quite a few.

I am glad you raised this topic Mike and hopefully some clever people here will explain the theory . .thanks;)

Oriane Lima

Hold on
Reaction score
Hi there. I read your question with interest.

Music needs the sense of movement. To modulate is to “move” either inside the same key or to another key, otherwise music would be very boring. Modulation is how we call this movement; “to modulate” is to move the harmony (chords) and the melody to another key, simple as that.

The cycle of fifths is the main and most important tool to study and apply the art of modulation (among other tings). So, it is of paramount importance to learn “at exhaustion” the movement of the keys and notes in the cycle. Without this knowledge one can easily get lost and misunderstand the written music in a lead sheet, for example.