How is Novation Launchkey SL49 MkIII for Beginners??

Reaction score
Hi, All… As the title says, I’m looking at purchasing the SL49 MkIII. Aside from messing around with GarageBand, I have no experience with DAWs. I’ve played piano sporadically since I was a kid, but never very consistently. When I do sit down and play regularly, I’m “ok” (mayyybe). I’ve always wanted to make music thru a computer & MIDI hardware, but always felt it would be a lil’ overwhelming. Anyway, I started playing more, and now want to dive in on this end. I guess my main question is, “Is this a keyboard that I can grow into with the least/lesser pain, or will I be boxing it back up??”. I have pretty realistic expectations. I know that if it’s worth it, it takes time. That’s a given, and I’m ok with that. And as long as the price justifies the quality of product and satisfaction of use, I’m good. So am I going to be banging my head, or bangin out music?? Thank-you, folks. I appreciate your feedback.
Max

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Good plan.

Go to youtube and watch a whole bunch of videos about DAWs, home recording, VSTs and check out reviews and tutorials for the gear and software you are interested in. Absolutely the quickest and easiest way to speed up the learning curve on music technology today.

It will help you to formulate and ask specific questions once you have grounded yourself in the terminology.

In the meantime, I suggest you download and read the user manual of any keyboard you are trying to buy.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
Welcome.

Sounds like a good plan.

Pre covid I used to like to faff around in my local and not so local music stores.

In the nearest one to me they had plenty of MIDI keyboard controllers on display where they varied from cheapish and nasty to OMG that is expensive.

There was sections specific to Novation, M-Audio, Native Instruments and Akai plus there were other units amongst the Roland and Korg kit.