How to get the left hand going?

Reaction score
i'm a grown-up part-time newbie teaching myself. for amusement. going alright. good fun. but i'm doing it all one handed, right hand only. started doing that because the only sheet music i had was wind music, single melody line stuff, and because it's easier.

any clues on how to get the left hand going? I'm really bad at it....

and do you reckon it should be learned, piano style? or all the built in rythms and accompaniments etc. of a modern keyboard means the left hand should be busy switching them things rather than playing the traditional piano left hand?

Reaction score
and do you reckon it should be learned, piano style? or all the built in rythms and accompaniments etc. of a modern keyboard means the left hand should be busy switching them things rather than playing the traditional piano left hand?
Whatever works for you. You're playing for your own pleasure, so the rules are what you make them!

any clues on how to get the left hand going? I'm really bad at it....
Me too. Here's what I do - may work for you, may not. First I start by learning the right hand. Then, I learn the left hand. Then I slowly practice putting them together. As my confidence improves I increase my speed. Then, just when I think I've got it, I slow everything down to a crawl again and build the speed back up.

Depending on the complexity of the piece I might do the whole thing right hand, then the whole thing left hand, then put the two together. Alternatively I may only work out a bar or two at a time, slowly joining each section I've learned to the next.

Final tip. Rather than spend hours a day on it, I'll practice for small chunks of time, but often. I find a daily routine of 45 minutes works better than a weekly routine of 3 hours.

Good luck!

Reaction score