How to increase the volume of right hand instruments . .

Discussion in 'Yamaha Keyboards' started by Rayblewit, Jan 22, 2018.

  1. Rayblewit

    Rayblewit Love Music / Love Life

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    930
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    PSR S 650

    Sometimes certain voices being played with my right hand lack volume. The acoustic guitar sound is a good exampe. I have left hand acmp. chords playing but, I find the guitar sound is vey soft. Much softer than the rhythm and beat. How can I increase the volume of my lead guitar (right hand side) to be louder than the rest?

    The mixer works with the acmp. but makes no changes to my lead melody (acoustic guitar). Is there a way to apply the mixer to the right side?

    Cheers

    Ray
     
    Rayblewit, Jan 22, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Rayblewit

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,017
    Likes Received:
    2,160
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    There should be some way to tweak the individual voice settings for each patch.

    Otherwise, how about just lowering the accompaniment volume and cranking up the overall volume?

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Jan 22, 2018
    #2
    Rayblewit likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Rayblewit

    Rayblewit Love Music / Love Life

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    930
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Thanks man!
    I am still hopeful that there is a way to tweak the individual voice setting as you say. I reckon Michael @SeaGtGruff will know how.;)
    As for lowering the acmp volume . . Yes I did think of that.
    Cheers ray
     
    Rayblewit, Jan 22, 2018
    #3
    happyrat1 likes this.
  4. Rayblewit

    Biggles

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Lancashire, UK.
    Have you tried following the info on Page 47 of your manual ?
     
    Biggles, Jan 22, 2018
    #4
    Rayblewit and happyrat1 like this.
  5. Rayblewit

    SeaGtGruff I meant to play that note! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    705
    Yes, you should be able to go into the voice settings and increase the volume for the voice. Yamaha generally suggests a maximum volume of 100, even though it will go up to 127, on the basis that going beyond 100 may cause some distortion in the sound of the voice. But on my PSR-E models there are some voices with preset volumes over 100, such as 122 (which is very close to the maximum). On the other hand, a lot of voices on my PSR-E models have preset volumes which are ridiculously low in my opinion, such as 50-something, and those voices definitely sound better if you increase their volumes.
     
    SeaGtGruff, Jan 22, 2018
    #5
    happyrat1 and Rayblewit like this.
  6. Rayblewit

    Rayblewit Love Music / Love Life

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,326
    Likes Received:
    930
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Thanks Mr. Gruff.
    You hit the nail on the head. I searched and found it. Its in the "function display"
    I can change 60 different aspects of my song. . including volume. And it is set on 100 exactly as you said. The dial takes it up or down. Up max 127 as you said.
    So it had nothing to do with the mixer.
    Your a gem Michael.:)
    Cheers ray.
     
    Rayblewit, Jan 23, 2018
    #6
  7. Rayblewit

    SeaGtGruff I meant to play that note! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    705
    Different Yamaha models call it different things. Some models call it the "Voice Set" feature. Other models put it in with the "Mixer" feature (I think). And then there are the "poor boy's" models-- like the ones I have-- which have neither of those features, just a "Functions" menu. :)
     
    SeaGtGruff, Jan 23, 2018
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.