how to loop samples having attack (Casio WK)

DMS

Reaction score
Using the Casio looping parameter.

I am new to the world of loading samples to my Casion WK3500, and have both samples and the Music Data Management Software.

I'm puzzled by the following - manysample wavs for synth sounds are meant to be looped, and the Casio Software has a looping option..... how the heck does that deal with the fact that even sustained sounds have some type of attack... if you literally looped those files, I'd suspect you wouldn't get a fluid sustain... it's almost as if you'd need to have one file that contains the attack and sustain, and then another file with the attack cut out, and that is the one that loops. The full sound is produced by playing the first file and then the looped second file. Ok - so that is what seems intuitive, but I'm suspecting the software gets around this somehow, so that you can actually get by with a single wav file that's looped.... curious how to get around that seeming barrier???

Thanks, DMS

The Y_man

Reaction score
Don't know anything regarding the sampling features on the WK, but back when I was playing around with samplers, you could program the start point, the fnish point, and also the point you wanted the looping to start from... hope it makes sense

Y-man

DMS

Reaction score
I'm assuming that if a wav file plays for a duration of 3 seconds, and has both a pronounced attack/decay/steady state... there's no way about it, and a wav editing program is needed. I'm also assuming that if you give the Casio software the instruction to loop.... you loop the whole thing and not just the steady state... seems to far a stretch for the Casio program to sort out by itself.... if that's all true so far.. what is the best sample editing software for light duty/ease of use? Fruity Loops Edison may do the trick, but something simpler may suffice???

Reaction score