How to play every music piece on C scale

Reaction score
I am not a Professional pianist. I play piano for Fun. I am not good in reading sheet music. I usually follow Youtube tutorials or I Google piano notes for any music which I wanted to learn. My singing scale is C major and I also feel comfortable on playing C major as it only demands us to play White keys he...he....
until now I was using Transpose function.

But now I am thinking to learn all new songs on C scale rather than mastering them on any other scale. But this has made my life terrible..... Recently I picked up a small music piece (Nokia Ringtone), it was on E scale...so on every note I need to think over it a lot by counting half and full steps until its back on root note E in order to recognise its place on C scale. Is there any better or easy way around so I can easily convert the notes of any scale to C major scale

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Save yourself the trouble of learning everything the wrong way.

You'll end up having to unlearn it all someday and you're crippling yourself in the process.

Teach yourself properly by learning the Circle of Fifths and do Hanon's Piano Exercises which is a free download on the internet as copyright expired centuries ago.

It just takes practice and determination. The only deadlines you have to worry about are the ones you create yourself :)

(REMEMBER: Real pianos DON'T have a Transpose Function :) )

Gary ;)

Reaction score
You're apparently lazy and you are looking for us to aid and abet on your laziness........ I for one will pass on your request for assistance.

yul

Reaction score
This is OK in my opinion and not necessarily lazy as long as it is used for education.

There is something called chord progressions (example I-v-III etc..) you will find that a lot of songs are using a similar progressions.