How/where do you place your monitors?

Reaction score
I'm picking up a Roland VR09B soon, and was going to get a normal folding stand for it. If I get two monitors for audio, how would you recommend placing them? I want to take up as little space as possible. I'd love to see some photos of your home setups!

Thanks,

Eric

Reaction score
Start here, and experiment the best positions for you and your space. B3 Key Mon DXR10.jpg

Reaction score
It really depends on what you are going to use as "monitors." Actual studio monitors are very directional and the sweet spot is very small so the positioning for studio monitors is very specific. If you plan to use a normal hi-fi type speaker you have much more freedom for placement.

Reaction score
I'm a gigging musician and I use one monitor (I run mono) which I place behind me so that I can adequately hear myself. Although stereo seems cool when you are in a loud band stereo imaging gets lost. I play in a couple of bands, one band does not mic the instruments. That band also has two guitars; one with a Marshall 100 watt tube head and the other with a boutique amp (Fuchs) that is also a 100 watt tube amp. The volume becoming off the stage is incredibly loud. The bass player has a 1200 watt 8x10 cabinet. My EV speaker struggles to keep up and having it behind me simply crushes me. so I use a 2nd speaker with that band, and I put it in front of my rig. This allows me to be heard by the audience and since one of the speakers is in front of me it reduces the volume behind the players (stage volume). It's my equivalent to a personal keyboard PA, between the speaker behind me and the speaker in front of me I get enough volume out to the audience without it all being in my ears. So 1000 watts behind me and 1000 watts in front of me. It's crazy but the band is really good and that is why I still play with them.

Reaction score