I am a beginner to the whole module/MIDI/etc world of keyboards. I need advice please

Reaction score
Hello!
I have just joined this keyboard forum and therefore ill tell you a little about myself. I come from sunny Ireland and have been playing the piano since I was around 8 years old. I have my Grade 8 and play in a number of different bands including a beatles tribute band, a country showband,etc.

Although I gig a few times a week and am used to performing on stage, I am extremely unknowlegable when it comes to, well, anything other than just the standard stage piano and synth. Pretty much just what you get from an acoustic piano.

Even on this forum, I see a lot of talk about modules and MIDI controllers, etc etc etc. I would very much like to get into this side of the keyboards as to expand my knowledge of the more technical side of things but also so that it will hopefully enhance my performance aswell. It may also enable me to record some of my own compositions, etc. I find this whole stuff facinating and really want to get into it.

I just wonder if someone would be kind enough to give me advice on starting out on this whole side of things :) Like, i really dont know anything lol. For example, what should I get my hands on first..... and then explain what that is lol

I look forward to hearing from you :)

Reaction score
Hello, I have been using modules and synths for over 20 year so hopefully I'll be able to give you some advice.
What sort of sounds do you want ie Organs, Synths, Orchesteral, or a pallet of mixed sounds.
I would suggest checking out some websites like SonicState.com , Vintage synth explorer and Youtube.