I bought a new keyboard. A Roland FP-30. I want to explore the guitar voice.

Reaction score
I'm just learning to play.I've got an idea that C2 through C6 is probably the keys that will sound closest to an actual steel guitar. Now I'm looking to find websites that might give me some tips on how to play guitar songs on the keyboard. Any ideas out there?

Reaction score
My piano teacher can play the guitar a little bit on the keyboard. He showed me some chords and did a little bit of a song he knows. That's the kind of thing I want to try.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
My best advice for tutoring online in what you want to do is watch a lot of keyboard tutorials on youtube.

Mimicking a guitar isn't high on most keyboard player's lists.

I wouldn't even begin to know what search terms to use.

Jan Hammer however, is a keyboardist who can make a keyboard scream like an electric Fender. Jordan Rudess is another one.

It's unlikely a beginner would learn much from watching them play though. Their stage performances don't show much fingertip action and aside from an old series of Kurzweil Tutorials that Rudess made over a decade ago you're really going to have to search for what you seek.

Gary ;)

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
BTW, I just realized the Roland FP-30 is a VERY basic digital piano without a CC Pedal input, without a pitch or mod wheel and only 35 voices to play with.

You're NEVER gonna even come close to realistic guitar slides with that puppy.

The best you can do with it is hook it up to an ipad or a computer, load up some soft synth VSTis and use the keyboard as a mute controller.

You can't even really add other MIDI controllers to it since it has no real MIDI ports.

The best you can hope for is some gentle chord strumming but steel guitar slides and electric leads are strictly off the menu.

Gary ;)

Reaction score