I don't know why this is making me so nervous.

Reaction score
HA. I feel that's the best title because I never post on forums, I usually just stalk them. BUT, I made a promise to myself to really work on my keyboard this year and so here I am :)

SUMMARY: If anyone has any suggestions for books, videos, etc. or tips on making the switch from classical piano to keyboard, I am so all ears. (or tips/tricks for my Korg SV-1 Vintage)

LONG FORM:I have a Korg SV-1 (73 key version) hooked up to a Vox tube amp. It's incredible- and it's been a little lonely this past year. I started Suzuki when I was 2 1/2 (my childhood development was astronomical, my adult development...eh. haha). I loved piano, and took lessons until I graduated high school. Except I was a boisterous little kid, who was obsessed with singing and musicals. So, it's possible that my piano development was more like a roller coaster than a nice jog up a hill. I became a pretty good pianist, but never learned how to understand the piano as an accompanying instrument even with my voice. So fast forward to now. I really want to learn how to play my keyboard. But...there are SO MANY OPTIONS. Piano has 1. 4 if you count pedals. My keyboard has like eighteenninetybajillion. Also, sidenote: I'm an Aspie so "just playing around until it started to make sense" is not something I do well.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
I can't recommend any specific book on MIDI and Synthesis, but Amazon has many available.

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_nr_scat_283155_ln?rh=n:283155,k:midi&keywords=midi&ie=UTF8&qid=1358131970&scn=283155&h=6aa38751ee59ddc4800b21a4310050916f7a011f

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_nr_scat_283155_ln?rh=n:283155,k:synthesizer&keywords=synthesizer&ie=UTF8&qid=1358132082&scn=283155&h=472d67afce573671f6acf58f020613b05988bedd

My advice is to scan thru the listings and order a couple of books that catch your eye on the subjects and start doing some heavy reading.