I have a question about how chords appear on sheet music.

Reaction score
I'm brand new to piano. I've been learning some very simple songs like old McDonald. I'm learning from a couple online sites and poking around. So I jumped way ahead to chords yesterday. I learned the basics and started practicing them. Here's my question. What kind of notation are used to describe a chord on sheet music. I've looked around and haven't seen anything like what was described in the video. Like this. Fmaj Will I find notation like that on sheet music when the composer what that chord played or something else?

Fred Coulter

Collector of ancient keyboards
Reaction score
In song books, you'll find both chord symbols written above the music as well as the notes in the music itself. Generally, the chord symbols are simplifications of the actual harmonic structure of the music.

If you really want to learn to play, do not rely upon the chord symbols. Look at the written music.

(Also, most piano music does not include chord symbols. Generally, only song books contain chord symbols so that the guitar player can strum along.)

As for how the chord will be written, that's a very different question. If you get a decent church hymnal, the music will be written in four parts, with the melody being the top note, and the other three notes for the alto, tenor, and bass. All four notes make up the chord. (Unfortunately, much church music isn't written to be easily played on a piano. The stretches between the notes are often too large, and a simple right hand = treble clef / left hand = bass clef playing style may not always work. Playing it on an organ is easier, since you throw the bass to the pedals, and now you've only got three notes to play on the keyboard.) Simplistic piano music will have the right hand playing the melody, and the left hand playing the chord.