Im new here, gots questions

Reaction score
ok, so i would like to learn how to play the keyboard. Im more interested in the sounds it can make, and not really grand piano. although it wouldnt hurt to have it. i have been doing research and was wondering if you can be self taught for keyboard? How easy is it to pick up a keyboard and just start playing something easily? 1 thing im kind of worried, but maybe with time, is my fingers. its really hard to have my hands do two different things at the same time, and playing this instrument demands it.(or is very useful with it)
So, im more interested in being self taugh, and im wondering how easy can you teach your self? or would i need a teacher? Is it really easy to just pick up and play? and the hands, it'll take time right?

Reaction score
While it is possible to teach yourself the piano (especially with all of the latest "learn piano fast" techniques being advertised everywhere), the vast majority of self learners end up learning bad technique that can often take years to undo.

While it may not seem like a very big deal now, knowing which finger to use on what key, when is one of the most important things a budding pianist can learn. It sets up everything you'll do later, from chord comping to playing solos.

It would be so worth taking some lessons from the start, just to get yourself off on the right foot. It doesn't have to be forever, but some good basics will stay with you.

Time is the big investment here, as unless someone is a piano savant, lots of practice is what makes you play well.

Good luck and enjoy this trip you've started.

p.s. Just an FYI, I'm not a piano teacher, nor do I play one on TV.

Reaction score
I can't recommend starting off self-taught. Not only are there bad habits you can pick up without someone more experienced watching, you can also waste a lot of time by focusing on the wrong things.