Improve sound of Yamaha DGX-650

Reaction score
I am trying to improve the sound of my Yamaha DGX650. I have a Behringer 300 Watt 4Channel PA System/Amplifier with FX and FBQ feedback detection. It is the Ultratone K3000FX model.

I have it connected to my piano and obviously I can increase the volume but the sound is not good. I use headphones connected through it and they sound good.

Any suggestions! I am a novice when it comes to most of this!

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
How are you hooking up the Yamaha to the PA? Thru 1/4" TS line outputs or thru 1/4" TRS headphone jack?

There may be impedance matching issues here.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
The sound is not crisp and clear using the built in speakers. I contacted the amp manufacturer and purchased the cables according to their specs. I am plugging the headphones into the amp and the sound is great through them. I believe it is a 1/4" line from the piano to the amp. I connected it while on the phone with the manufacturer.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Sounds to me like the problem is with the amp. Maybe a dicey output stage.

If the headphones sound clear plugged thru the amp to the keyboard then then connection is fine. In fact the entire signal chain is fine until it hits the PA.

The problem is with the amp. At least that's my best guess.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
Sounds to me like the problem is with the amp. Maybe a dicey output stage.

If the headphones sound clear plugged thru the amp to the keyboard then then connection is fine. In fact the entire signal chain is fine until it hits the PA.

The problem is with the amp. At least that's my best guess.

Gary ;)
I am using it for my own person enjoyment and I have been considering getting a couple of monitors to try with it instead of the amp to see if the quality of the sound is better.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
One other thing.