interested in recommendation for a sound module

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm a bassist and a group I'm performing with does a few Rush songs. I've got the piano chops to pull them off, I just don't have the gear yet. What I do have is a Roland PK-5 pedal, a MicroKORG and a cheap Yamaha I plan to use as a MIDI controller only.

What I'm looking for is a synth module that I can use with the "taurus" pedals and the controller to get a close approximation of those classic Moog and Oberheim sounds. I know they won't be exact, and they don't need to be, they just need to be in the ballpark. I'd prefer the module to be rack mountable since I have 1 space free in my bass rig.

I was thinking a SC-88 Pro, only because I've used them before and I think I can find an adapter to rack mount it.

Your suggestions and advice are appreciated - thank you!

Reaction score
An SC88Pro won't sound anything like a Moog or an Oberheim. It's a bread and butter synth, not a VA. Personally the only 1unit rack I know of that can come even close is the FreeBass FB383 but it's basically a 303 clone, as opposed to Moog / Oberheim.
If you want to recreate that particular sound I'd suggest something like a Clavia Nord Modular, a Waldorf Pulse an Access Virus or similar. Forget the SC88 it's designed to do General Midi naffness, not analogue emulation awesomeness.

Reaction score
You could "try" the really cheap n cheerful Akai SG01V which "might" get you in the ballpark, but it won't compare to the true VA synths.

Reaction score
thanks for the recommendations. I really like the sounds of the Akai, so I guess it's time to do some searching!

Reaction score
would something like Propellerheads "Reason" be able to do the same thing? finding the older rack mount units is pretty tough . . . maybe I could do it on a laptop with software?

Reaction score