Intermediate Setup MIDI keyboard + software

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new here and I would really appreciate it if someone could spare a few minutes and help me get off my feet and on the right track.

A little background, I have been playing music since I was 6 years old (i'm 21). Switched from piano to guitar in 3rd grade and have been playing/writing music ever since. Through the years I've developed a strong music sense/ability and I find it very easy to jump back to piano. At this point, being in a band, I'd like to open myself back up to the piano. But I want a very versatile setup. I'm very interested in MIDI keyboards because I think their capabilities are almost infite. Through modifcations of sounds and what-not on a computer I feel like you have the power to create truly original music.

Now, I just need a recommendation on a solid MIDI keyboard and accompanying software.

I've done some quick browsing on the internets and the Akai products are impressing me -seem to be pretty good quality for a conveinent price.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/keyb...ni-laptop-production-keyboard/h68164000001000

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/keyboards-midi/akai-professional-mpk25-keyboard-usb-midi-controller

as someone who is jumping back into keyboards, wants the capability to controls drums, synth, samples, and everything in between. What would be the best combo for me? I don't want to spend more than $300 on a keyboard but I was the most functionality possible at the expense of a less-wide keyboard. I also am impressed with Fruity Loops software and Ableton live (I am familiar with both), but I do not want to spend that much yet. (i am a college student and most my money goes to beer.). SO, is there software out there that substantially mimics and capabilities of FL studio and Ableton live?

Also, if anything in the above doesn't make sense please let me know, to reiterate I am new to MIDI keyboard technology.