Intro

Reaction score
Hello - I purchased my first keyboard in 30 years about a year ago. I am a Newbie to these pages. Looking forward to learning about equipment preferences and any other info I can suck up. Oh, I better get busy practicing soon. My equipment is not very sophisticated. I own a Casio 3200, a Korg Micro and a Nord Electro 2.:D

Reaction score
Hello there, and welcome to the forum! For how long have you been playing the keys?

<<Gratwhol>>

Reaction score
Thanks for the Welcome!

Gratwohl - I used to play guitar, trombone, bass and limited keyboards in the 60's till around 1976. I am a guitar player and any keyboarding I do is very limited. I quit playing all instruments in 76 and didn't pick the guitar back up until around 1999. I have slowly been getting back in to the guitar and decided I would try and get back my very basic skills with the keyboard. So a long way to answer, yes I am technically a beginner.

So I will primarily be a sponge and probably ask some dumb questions. Looking forward to the ride.

Mark

Reaction score
Gratwohl

Well the world of Keyboards is quite intricate. I started playing on an upright acoustic from the time I was four until I was 9. I do not want to give the impression that I was some kind of impressario, I was only a hack that could play by ear.

Now the keyboard world has:

It is a little daunting. I am pretty happy for now with the boards I have but at some point I will want to change my anchor board. Now I use (don't flame me) a Casio WK-3200, a Nord Electro 2 and occasionally a Micro Korg. Don't ask me how I got this mix, but it seems to work pretty good. I love the Nord. The Korg makes enough divergent sounds that I could never run through even if I wanted to. I know this board flames Casio's, but I have to tell you I have loved this board. It was my first in many years and I found it superior to the Yamaha in many ways. But hey...everyone has their own personal preference.

Reaction score