Introductions, Purpose, and Dilemma

Reaction score
Hello, board! First of all, my name is Jay and I look forward to conversing with you about keyboards as I learn more about them. I appreciate any feedback you have to offer and I apologize for the length of my initial thread. :)

A little bit about me and my musical background: I was fortunate enough for my junior high and high school to offer piano class as an elective. So, for 6 years, I learned, practiced, and excelled in classical and modern piano. During that time, I also picked up guitar and self taught myself due to the music theory I had already acquired. After graduating college, I hadn't played piano in a very long time and probably won't look into buying an acoustic upright until I own my first home. Also, I've been playing rhythm guitar and backup vocals in bands off and on for the past 10 years.

About 4 years ago, a band that my cousin was playing lead guitar in suggested me for keyboards to the frontman, however all they had to offer was a beat-up Roland E-28. I played my first gig on that, got the job, and decided to get my first electronic keyboard.

Whether it was luck or fate, I discovered the M-Audio Prokeys 88sx and since I've bought it, I've never been happier. I have a great gigging stage piano with the basic sounds I needed as well as a practice piano at home. While playing live, I would use the Roland as a secondary keyboard for any synthesizer, horn, or strings sound I needed for the song.

The band disbanded about a year ago; but 3 weeks ago the frontman called and said the drummer was back in, along with the bassist we had when I first joined (and had since dropped out). He also told me about the two biggest changes:
1. We've brought in a female singer to share in the lead vocal duties and expand our repetoire; and,