Is high-end weighted keys midi keyboards action and feel close to a good action DP?

Reaction score
Good day to all. This is my first post.

I'm a classical trained pianist. I have an acoustic piano and a digital Piano (Kawai ES920, 88 keys).
I use my acoustic in the day and my DP is for night use and occasionally connect to my Mac and use with GarageBand for some recordings.

I am thinking of getting a midi keyboard to be interesting to produce music.

I’m in a dilemma if i shall let go my DP and replace it with a high quality midi keyboard. I do have extra space in my room but as much as I could, I do not wish to occupy more space.

Is high-end midi keyboard’s action and feel close to a good action DP / acoustic piano?
If the forum allow to share brands/ models to have great actions, kindly share with me.

Thanks and looking forward for replies.

Reaction score
As you are probably well aware Keybed action is very personal and very, very varied.

A specific DP action will be hated by some, loved by some and appraised by others everywhere in between.

First thought is add another Kawai to your setup an ES110 will be at a price point at or below a top quality MIDI only then there is the more upmarket MP7.

MIDI only & a Native Instrument S 88 is the best one I have tried but these is also a Doepfer LMK4+ that gets rave reviews.

Finally checkout reviews of a Studiologic SL 88 Grand

Reaction score
As you are probably well aware Keybed action is very personal and very, very varied.

A specific DP action will be hated by some, loved by some and appraised by others everywhere in between.

First thought is add another Kawai to your setup an ES110 will be at a price point at or below a top quality MIDI only then there is the more upmarket MP7.

MIDI only & a Native Instrument S 88 is the best one I have tried but these is also a Doepfer LMK4+ that gets rave reviews.

Finally checkout reviews of a Studiologic SL 88 Grand
Thank you so much. ^^

Reaction score