Juno DS issue : high pitch resonnance with microphone

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have this issue with my DS that when I use the microphone, I get this weird high pitch resonance with makes it unusable.

I tried a Shure SM57 and SM58 with a XLR to 1/4 inch adapter, and also with a cable that is XLR to 1/4 and I keep having this problem.

The vocoder works fine though so I can at least use that function.

Any idea of what causes this?
Thanks!

Reaction score
Thanks Gary,

Is the local/global FX in the effects menu?

Any specific tab/setting I should take a look at? I tried playing with the input mic volume and reverb send in System settings / microphone but nothing seems to help.

P

Reaction score
Yeah don’t worry, I studied both manuals and didn’t find the answer, that’s why I’m posting here. Wondering if it has anything to do with the mics I’m using or some obscure settings I could’ve missed.

And yes, I tried adjusting both the knob in the back and the mic fader. There either is no sound or that wild resonance.

But thanks man!

Reaction score
Both were cardioid dynamic microphones.
Feedback is a good hypothesis but I also had the problem with headphones (layout: mic-keyboard-mixer-headphones)

P

Reaction score
It most likely is feedback. Make sure your mic is not in a direct line to the speakers, and/or lower the volume.

Reaction score
I have similar issues with various gear when a USB cable AND a Power Cable are both plugged in.
Suggestion 1: try disconnecting the computer power adapter. If there's no computer in the situation, can you try the DS on batteries, just to see if the squeal disappears?
Suggestion 2: It seems you have ruled this out by trying different connections to the mic, but has it always been the same mic cable itself? It may be that, unless you've used a few different mic cables, regardless of the adaptors. Sorry I can't be more helpful!

Reaction score