Just a noob question...

Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm new to keyboards/synths and am totally technologically challenged, so I hope I don't offend anyone (teehee) :

I'm looking for a keyboard I could use (by itself) for writing/recording full, fleshed out songs for my (future) band, with guitars, bass, drums, keys, etc (so I guess that's at least 5 different tracks or something?).
I'd like it to be portable, and I'd like the arpeggiator to be capable of programming odd time signatures (6/8, 9/4, etc). If possible, I'd like to pay under $250 for it (used is ok). Although it would mainly be used for writing parts, any sampling/modeling would be nice...

Does anything like this exist in a low price range? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! ^.^

Reaction score
Noob question

E7os,

It sounds like what you're describing is a class of keyboards called "workstations". These are usually ROM sample based keyboards with at least 8 tracks of digital sequencing available, used for live playing but also for writing/creating songs. They normally feature typical sounds like piano, EP, organs, strings, brass, guitars, synth, drums, etc. They usually have arpeggiators as well. You didn't mention if you want onboard speakers but usually these types of keyboards don't have them.

The big three manufacturers are Yamaha (Motif series, MO series,) Roland (Fantom series)and Korg (M50, M1,) but all keyboards in this class are going to be more expensive than $250. I'm very partial to the Motif but the M50 is also a good choice.

A used 61 key version of a workstation might be possible for about $650 - $750)

There is also a class of keyboards called "arrangers" that do even more along the lines of putting complex songs together but I am not that familiar with them.