Keyboard for a beginner

Reaction score
Hi,
I’m a total beginner and would like to purchase a keyboard and start learning. The styles I like most are symphonic metal and progressive metal. I realize those are challenging and that it’ll take lots of time to be able to play these. Any recommendation for a keyboard to start with given those preferences? What should be my considerations?

Many thanks!

Reaction score
I don’t really have a budget, I assumed I wouldn’t buy the most expensive one to start with, but overall I’m open to all options.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Give us a number please.

$200-$300?

$500-$800?

$1000 and up?

Is used an option?

Not worth my time to list every keyboard ever made.

For less than $400 used you won't find much in the way of symphonic metal.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
$1000 and up is fine, my only concern is that it’ll be user friendly enough for a total beginner.

many thanks!

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Perfect for your needs is a Korg Kross 2 or a Roland Juno DS.

They will have all the iconic sounds of the 70s and 80s and the control layout is relatively simple.

Available in 88, 76, 0r 61 key models depending on your preference and you might find a good condition used one or store demo for well under $1000 USD.

Gary ;)

PS. Keep in mind you will have to budget a couple of hundred for studio monitors or an amp.

Reaction score
Welcome.

The keyboards Gary suggests are available in different forms.

Both manufacturers have versions with 61 synth action keys, the Juno has another option of 76 keys abd both are also available with acoustic piano like hammer action and 88 keys.

Reaction score