Keyboard for drummer?

Reaction score
Hi,

I’m an amateur drummer, playing for a couple of years and would appreciate advice on buying a keyboard to use as a ‘band’ to jam along with.

The idea is to download MIDI files of songs off the web onto my laptop. Then use software to print out the drum part as sheet music that I can learn. Then I can play the drums along with the keyboard playing the MIDI file of all the other instruments, guitar, bass, piano etc.

Can anyone suggest a suitable keyboard for this. My budget is £300 / $600, new or second hand and the main requirement is that the instrument sounds are as realistic as possible.

Many thanks,

Paul.

Reaction score
You'll be hard-pressed to find something new with good sounds for only $600. The Roland Juno D, the cheapest of their workstation keyboards, is $600 right now. If you have a decent computer and you already have decent software that can make at least minor changes to a MIDI file like muting/removing a part (you'd need something like Finale or Sibelius to handle printing out a score from a MIDI file), you might want to consider buying something like Native Instruments' Kontakt instead of a keyboard.

You could load your MIDI file into Kontakt, make a multi (group of instruments assigned to MIDI channels; this way, you could save your instrument setup for an individual song) and then load the right multi and MIDI file and play along with it. For that matter though, you could also consider using the MIDI file to try and determine a drum part, but playing along with the original audio track; I do this a lot for organ songs. You have to get the level of your instrument balanced right so that you're not overpowering the backing track but can hear yourself over the existing drums on the audio, but it's not too hard and it wouldn't cost you anything.