keyboard for @ or under $300

Reaction score
Hello all!
First post here (yay)!

Okay so here's the situation. I am trying to purchase a keyboard for my spouse...this seemed like a simple easy task in the beginning. I'm not a musician but I am an IT professional and typically have no issues looking at specs and finding the best option for users needs and price-range. Alas I was WRONG this is NOT and "easy" task by any means.

I have been reading about keyboards/digital pianos for about a week now and the only thing I have learned is that I know nothing.

My spouse is a guitar player without a guitar... I WAS going to get him a guitar for Christmas but found that my budget doesn't really meet his needs. So here we are, posting in keyboard forums with a plea for help to scratch a musicians itch (he plays piano as well).

Here are some things I know are needed:
Weighted keys
Ability to plug into his iMac

I have no idea if he needs more or less keys and if sacrificing keys will give him more useful perks in other areas that might effect bang/quality for buck.

If you guys have questions I can try and get answered that will help pin this down better please post them in here and I will respond. (like for instance I can get one of his friends to ask his opinion on said question bc they are "buying a keyboard for their _____")

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
There is NO SUCH THING as a sub $500 keyboard with weighted keys.

Your only hope is to check the classifieds on craigslist and find him a used Casio Privia PX-350 or PX-340 or a used Yamaha DGX-640 or DGX-650.

Even then, be careful it's not too beaten up from use and that every knob, key and button and input/output jack works properly.

Depending on where you live you might find one around $350 USD with no taxes because it's used.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
Welcome