Keyboard help for gigging musician

Reaction score
Hello! I am new to this forum and I am hoping some of you may be of assistance.

I am a pianist of many years now transferring over to the world of digital/electric pianos for performance purposes, as a gigging musician. I'm still new to all of the bells and whistles that can be found on today's electric pianos, and mainly just wanted the most realistic feeling/sounding piano. After doing some initial research, I settled on the Yamaha YPG-625 both due to realistic sound and feel, and the price tag. I didn't feel I needed the Cadillac of digital pianos (which in my current opinion would be the Nord Stage). Now I fear my choice may have been wrong, for the following reasons:

1. The Yamaha is relatively lightweight at only 40-something pounds (mainly due to the weighted keys). I purchased a case for my baby to protect it in transit from gig to gig. But when you add the additional 40-something pounds that the case adds (with hard bracing and wheels), I'm now lugging a nearly 90 lb. 88-keyboard up and down a flight and a half of stairs. For myself, being a 5'2" female, this is no longer optimal.

2. I have found that even with all of the realistic, lush sounds that the Yamaha boasts, there are no customizable presets to allow for easy switching between say a Harpsichord sound to a Rhodes sound, mid-song.

3. I practice on a $350 Williams electric keyboard at my practice space. While I wouldn't buy one, due to quality (the keys stick and it's still relatively new), I love the other features such as a modulation wheel and pitch bend wheel. My Yamaha doesn't have this modulation wheel and I didn't realize how much I would miss it.

Therefore, I am seeking the following wishlist items in a keyboard:

a. Lightweight. Preferably 35 lbs or less.
b. Realistic great piano and organ sounds. (Keep in mind, this is for stage performance)