Keyboard mod on a budget.

Reaction score
Hi all.

Modded keyboard project on a budget.

May interest some or none.

How would you like to add play back of MP3, radio broadcasts, bluetooth streaming and USB port to a old keyboard.

Stream Bluetooth audio to the speakers ex Acapella, percussion, bass, piano, lead or rhythm tracks as solo only or complete backing tracks.

I am not a electronic expert in any way and this current explanation of my mod comes with no experience or recommendation from me, it’s your decision entirely if you want to do this mod on your keyboard.

I purchased a budget keyboard for this project and I do not recommend using a expensive or vintage instrument as it will greatly reduce in value.

I purchased a portable Bluetooth speaker,
Specs:
3.7 v rechargeable battery
2 x 3” 4 ohm 3 watt speakers
MP3 playback, radio, USB, micro SD card and 5 volt in. The 5 volt in also charges the battery.

I disassembled the unit to use the parts for my project except the speakers as they were to big. I had some old 2” speakers lying around as I now believe some parts are worth keeping provided you have ample storage.

I own some basic tools like a Dremel, drill, drill bits, screwdriver, screws, soldering iron, solder, wires, hobby inspection camera and some small metal files.

After opening up my keyboard, I could see where I could cut the holes for the speakers and circuit board to fit precisely.
I marked the dimensions for the speakers and circuit board for cutout.
I used electrical tape and placed around the outer markouts to protected the casing and cut a hole before the markings in the bottom back of keyboard for the speakers and a hole on the top back of the keyboard for the circuit board with the Dremel. Reason cut before the hole so you can have a great finish without damage to the casing of keyboard.