Keyboard or Digital Piano?

Reaction score
Hi,
I am a newbie and I know this is a very basic (and probably stupid) question but...I am looking to buy a keyboard for my church and I havent got a clue where to start. The band that the keyboard will be used in is a modern band with drums/guitars/etc.

Now, obviously, this keyboard isn't for me (I am the guitarist in the band), but I have the job of buying the keyboard. I have been looking around and I have seen Keyboards, Stage Pianos, Digital Pianos, Synthesizers, etc and am really confused. Can anyone give me advise as to what my best option would be?

Ta

Reaction score
What kind of sound(s) are important to you and your church? Strictly a piano? Good Hammond Organ sounds? Pipe organ? Other electric pianos (wurlitzer, rhodes?) Strings and pads? Synth leads? You have to talk more about what you need before anyone can give you any reasonable suggestions.

Reaction score
What kind of sound(s) are important to you and your church? Strictly a piano? Good Hammond Organ sounds? Pipe organ? Other electric pianos (wurlitzer, rhodes?) Strings and pads? Synth leads? You have to talk more about what you need before anyone can give you any reasonable suggestions.
a GOOD piano sound, and strings mainly.

Reaction score
If GOOD piano sounds and strings are your priority, personally I feel Roland would be good for this. People also like Yamaha for piano, myself I don't but you have to decide. I think Roland smokes Yamaha for strings. Yamaha smokes Roland for wurlitzer, clavinet, and rhodes (if you get a motif or motif rack, or S90es). Roland model that would be good for piano and strings would be the FP4, FP7, RD-300gx, or RD-700gx. Can't speak about good yamaha keyboards for good piano sounds, as my main deciding factor for purchasing keyboards were good rhodes, wurly, clav, and organ, thus the Motif rack is my main ax.

Reaction score