Keyboard Purchase/AdvicePlease

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm primarily a guitarist but play some keys as well.I can manage a decent hours worth of piano for a cocktail hour if they happen to have a piano at the venue I'm playing.The quality of the piano's at these venues will vary greatly,from crappy out of tune uprights to expensive steinways and everything in between.But whichever piano might be there,I find that in most cases the action will be noticeably more difficult to play than the keyboard I've had at home for the past 15 years or so(Roland XV88),which has weighted keys but is still a bit too light to the touch in comparison to most acoustic pianos.

I'd like to get an 88 key weighted keyboard that has a harder action,but I can't really justify spending more than $1,000(and preferably less).I'm not looking for massive versatility here,just a fair piano sound with decent dynamic range that feels as close to a piano as possible.I've been to a couple of local stores and so far the best I can find action wise are a couple of the Casio's that I've tried.Any thoughts/suggestions are appreciated and sorry for the long windedness.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
First of all go into your Roland's menus and see if there's a Velocity Setting.

This sets the touch to play a note.

Try setting it to the heaviest setting.

If that still doesn't work for you let us know and we can make a few suggestions.

Gary ;)

Reaction score