Keyboard recommendation for my 13 Yr old daughter's setup

Reaction score
Hi, I'm building a setup for my daughter to record her own songs - I'm completely new to this but I'm thinking a Yamaha or Roland quality keyboard with weighted keys connected to her Mac (Garageband) via an external interface - plus a mic etc.

I'm in the UK and am looking to buy second hand so I can pay £500-£700 for a really nice unit, say originally £1000-£1500 worth. Also, she'll be using Garageband - does that mean she doesn't need and of the extras on the keyboard - i.e. music instruments, tools etc? And if I just get a more plain keyboard so that all the processing/sounds get handled by Garageband, can I get a much better keyboard?

Can anyone recommend a few models that I'll be able to find on Ebay UK? I'm looking to buy Roland or Yamaha. Apologise for my ignorance here - and help would be hugely appreciated.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
If you are looking for better value for your money I'd suggest looking around for an older Casio Privia PX-350 or PX-340. The current models are the PX-360 and PX-560.

The Casio Privias are much more compatible, don't require any proprietary drivers and have excellent hammer action keyboards and are fully capable of interfacing with DAW software to create MIDI sequences.

The Privias in recent years also have excellent quality piano voices and offer more bang for the buck overall.

There is also some excellent support for Casio products on both http://casiomusicforums.com as well as a Casio Facebook group.

If you are looking for something that your daughter will not outgrow in a year or two, these are my recommendations.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
A Midi keyboard will do what she wants, I have an Alesis and that comes with Ableton Lite which is a DAW software. MAudio, Akai and Behringer Midi keyboards also get good reviews and they all are a very reasonable price.