Korg SV-1 or Clavia Nord electro 3 ??

Reaction score
Hello, newbie here,

I have been trawling through many websites (and shops) trying to find a serious keyboard upgrade...
I gig and record regularly with various groups (funk, soul, indie, pop, rock) and have been using embarressingly bad equipment for too long now..

I'm after something that can give me great rhodes-esque sounds, authentic organ sounds and realistic pianos, therefore, I have narrowed it down to the Korg SV-1 or the Clavia Nord Electro 3.

I didn't really want to go past the £1000 mark but it seems to me that either of these two would serve my needs well (?) and would be a better investment than buying yet another mid-level keyboard that isn't exactly right.

Your advice and thoughts would be greatly appreciated :)

Reaction score
Don't even think about it GO NORD. $1550 brand new from ProAudioStar. You get all the samples from Nord for free. Serious, it feels great, easy to use...and is like having a 'pedalboard' right in front of you. No screens, no sequencer crap, just pure tone.

Reaction score
Lionskull,
Just got me the Nord Stage 88, which is a bigger, weighted keys version of the electro 3. I was in the market, similar to yourself, and while the SV-1 is GORGEOUS looking and sounding, it's pretty limited- 1 sound at a time, no splits, no layers, and it's primarily a electromechanical keyboard: it does have an organ sample, but it's really limited.

I LOVE my Nord Stage, it's the keyboard I've always wanted. The Electro 3 is similar but it doesn't have the synth section, but unlike the Stage, it can load in new sounds (other than piano, which the Stage can do).

It's hard to believe how much I enjoy the rhodes sounds one the Stage- it has a growl and chunkiness to the low end that cuts thru and is so satisfying- and then you layer the modeled organ, using the dedicated swell pedal to bring it in or out, and you're in heaven!!!