Learning how to play (complete beginner)

Reaction score
I want to learn how to play the keyboard but don't have a clue where to begin. I've got a 61 key velocity sensitve midi keyboard and I've got it setup with a software sequencer and syth so it happly makes noise. :) I've been doing some googling for online music lessons for the keyboard / piano, but all I get is expensive ebooks (one particular ebook happly spams itself all over the internet under different names :mad:), or small "free" lessons that are ad's for expensive ebooks. Are there any good, free online resources for newbie players, if not could you recommend a good book to learn from ? I can't afford proper music lesson's at this point, but would still perfer to learn how to play with proper technique upfront.

Cheers

Reaction score
I want to learn how to play the keyboard but don't have a clue where to begin.

It depends what kind of stuff you want to play.
I'm a beginner too but I'm not going to a piano teacher 'cause they would just make me do boring exercises & charge me a lot of money. I can do those same boring exercises on my own. As someone suggested, do lots of scales. Dull, but I also practice a lot of chords. If you jam with others you will need those skills.

Once you are sort of familiar with chords you know where your hands should go on the keyboard & you can play along with the patterns & fills. Hopefully your keyboard has a genre of fills you like.. like blues, ambient, trance.

I have 2 "Rock keyboards" beginner books in the Hal Leonard series. They give you a basic background. If you don't know anything about music or notation, you might need an even more beginner book. I hope you have a good music store in your area.

I realize that it will take at least 6 months of practicing just to get the basic 'chops' down.