Learning keyboard - where to begin?

Reaction score
hey all,

I'm interested in learning the keyboard. I have very little in the way of musical background, and no keyboard experience. I've been searching the net a bit and keep finding old websites or incomplete youtube series. I'm ready to spend some money for a subscription to a website or a DVD series, but I'd like to hear some input before I do this.

Any suggestions on a website or book/dvd series?

Reaction score
Hey Illuminatus1,

If you go the self-taught route I'm confident you could learn plenty just by trawling the net. I found this intriguing website with a very cursory look.

http://www.zebrakeys.com/

I haven't explored it in any depth at all so make no representations for the quality of the lessons nor compatibility with your individual learning style. No doubt you could find plenty more stuff just by taking the time to look. There's a stack of stuff on Youtube too, pretty much every keyboard song you can think of has been put in tutorial mode by some generous and keen folks.

The list of links that Gary/Happyrat1 provided would be a great start. A bit of "suck it and see" required on your part, but no-one can tell you what style of lesson suits you best, you have to figure that one out for yourself.

The other method is to fork out the readies for some lessons with a music teacher. Much more expensive but you get the opportunity to ask lots of questions and have someone who knows what they're doing give you immediate feedback and guidance.

I'll tell you this much: If you are keen enough to devote 30 minutes per day to practice, and have a healthy dose of tenacity, you'll be very pleased with how quickly you learn.

Cheers!

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
I'd say the best way to get started on his own would be to study the music theory links on how to read notation and chord structure and the wheel of 5ths as well as follow the Youtube channels for some expert visual training.