Linkin Park "New Divide" weird keyboard sound


Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Messages
395
Reaction score
27
Yoyoyo :)

I've been doing my own little kind of "project" at home, to do a recording of New Divide by Linkin Park each year. At first it was just to track my improvements regarding my singing "skills", but now I've realized that it's a good way to track my recording skills as well.

There are a few rather odd keyboard sounds in the song, but I've managed to find solution for most of them that are good enough for this years recording. However, I'm totally stuck at the sound around 2:38 - 2:52:


Last year I actually used a guitar for that, but I want to do it better this year, so any help would be very appreciated :)
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2010
Messages
465
Reaction score
5
i think it may actually be a guitar that they took the sound from and just edited the poop out of it.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Messages
395
Reaction score
27
Well, it does undeniably sound guitar-ish, but it's played in a sort of abstract way that I don't think a guitar can do.
And anyway, since my M50 doesn't have a sampler, I can't do it that way anyway...

Maybe the mystery is more how he plays it, rather than the sound itself?
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2010
Messages
465
Reaction score
5
ya know....just a thought but it actually may be they took a guitar sample and ran it though thoes usb turntables that they have.... ive seen lincoln park use them before.... that may not be true but its an idea
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Messages
395
Reaction score
27
Could be... You mean those things that look like DJ equipment?
If you look at the video below at around 2:40, he does actually use some kind of weird DJ-looking thing...

 
Joined
Aug 5, 2010
Messages
465
Reaction score
5
ok well it looks like its a mix between that and the synth sound on the virus ti synth
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2010
Messages
465
Reaction score
5
he is using both a real turn table and mixing what looks to be a guitar recording on the usb turntables.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top